The Ottoman Empire appointed its first resident envoys to Europe at the end of the 18th century with a view to following the developments in Europe. The first of these ambassadors, Yusuf Agâh Efendi, was posted to London in 1793. There has been a Turkish diplomatic mission in London since then. However, diplomatic relations between the Ottoman Empire and the UK was suspended in 1914 following the outbreak of World War I. After the proclamation of the Republic of Türkiye in October 1923, diplomatic relations were established on 2 September 1924.

Geographical regions that fall under the responsibility of the Embassy are the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Isle of Man, Bailiwick of Jersey and Bailiwick of Guernsey.

The consular services for the same area are covered by the Turkish Consulates General in London, Manchester and Edinburgh.

The Embassy also comprises of the Office of the Defence Attache, Press Office, the Office of the Commercial Counsellor, the Office of the Religious Affairs Counsellor, Tourism and Promotion Office, the Office of the Education Counsellor, the Office of the Justice Counsellor.


Monday - Friday

9:00 - 12:30 / 14:00 - 18:00

1/2/2023 New Year's Day
4/7/2023 Good Friday
4/10/2023 Easter Monday
5/1/2023 Early May Bank Holiday
5/8/2023 Coronation Day
5/29/2023 Spring Bank Holiday
8/28/2023 Summer Bank Holiday
12/25/2023 Christmas
12/26/2023 Boxing Day